About MacLeods
Clan News
Youth Section
Parliament reading list
Home » World Gatherings » Clan Parliament 2010 » Parliament reading list  
Print this Page Email this Page Bookmark this Page

Published books

Dunvegan Memories is a wonderful group of stories collected by Rachel Jackson. Her subjects are the people of Dunvegan, as they each tell their own tale of how they came to be residents there. Published in 2006, 64 pages, softcover.

Available from the Dunvegan Community Trust http://www.dunvegancommunitytrust.co.uk/.

This is the story of an elderly Raasay resident who spent 10 years building a two mile stretch of road, to help restore the population of the northern part of the island. Published in 2006 by Birlinn Ltd., 198 pages, hardcover.

Available from the publisher or http://www.amazon.co.uk/.

Tell Your Children About the Stones, by Nancy MacLeod Nicol. A short history of the Clan MacLeod Society. Published by Keyline, July 2002, softcover, 64 pages.

Available from ACMS.

The Kerracher Man, a modern tale in which Eric MacLeod describes returning to live on his family’s croft with his wife and children in the 1970's. This is the land on which the presnet-day Kerracher Gardens were built. Published in 2007 by Sandstone Press, softcover.

Available from the publisher or http://www.amazon.co.uk/.
We Have Won the Land: The Story of the Purchase by the Assynt Crofters' Trust of the North Lochinver Estate, by John Mackenzie. "A gripping account of developments in Assynt as events led up to initially to rejection and finally to the winning of the land by the crofters."  Paperback, 224 pages, published by Acair, Ltd, 1999.

Available from the publisher, or can be ordered through Amazon.co.uk.

The ACMS gratefully acknowledges
the major sponsors of our 16th Parliament.